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Legislature debates assessed
valuation limits: rolling average
or 3% cap

By Dave Trabert February 9, 2025 Kansas Policy Institute

Last week, the Kansas Senate passed a constitutional amendment that limits the

increase in taxable real estate valuations to 3% annually. SCR 1603 applies to all
real estate and mobile homes, considered personal property under Kansas law.

The limit would not apply when:

. 1cludes new construction or improvements have been made;
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e The class or subclass of the property changes for assessment rate purposes,
e The property becomes disqualified from exemption;
e The property is first listed as escaped or omitted property or
e The legal description of the parcel changes, except the valuation of all
property affected by a legal description change would not be permitted to
exceed 3 percent of the total valuation of the affected property of the

previous year.

House Speaker Dan Hawkins says he doesn't have the two-thirds majority needed
to pass a constitutional amendment and has no plans to have House members
vote on SCR 1603. Instead, the House will introduce its version of an assessment

limit, according to Sunflower State Journal.

The House plan in HCR 5011 would use the lesser of the actual change or a rolling
average of an unspecified number of years to be determined by Legislators and
only apply to residential property. In contrast, the Senate’s plan is the lesser of the
actual change or a 3% fixed annual cap and applies to all real estate classes. The
House plan goes into effect on January 1, 2027, one year later than the Senate plan.
The one-year delay seems designed to allow the Legislature to determine the
number of years in the rolling average if voters approve the constitutional
amendment in November 2025, but that means voters won't really know the
amendment’s potential impact because the term of the rolling average isn't
specified in the House plan.

There are other nuances between the two plans, but the timing, formula, and
applicability are the significant differences.

According to SSJ, the House believes the Senate plan “creates disparities between a
home’s fair market value and the taxable value,” but so would the House plan. In
fact, the taxable value of all real estate already differs from market value because
of assessment ratios in the Kansas constitution. For example, residential property
is taxed at 11.5% of appraised value, commercial and industrial real estate at 25%,
and agricultural property at 30%.
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There are also concerns with both plans deviating from appraising property at fair
market value. However, limiting the increase in taxable value rather than on the
appraised value may eliminate most of those fears.

The language in SCR 1603 limits

Simulation Limiting Taxable Value

“the final taxable appraised value.” Description Year2 % Chg
; Appriased Value S 250,000 | S 275,000 10.0%

Amendmg SCR 1603 to change the Assessment Ratio 11.5% 11.5%

word ‘appraised’ to ‘assessed’ and Assessed Value S 28750|S5 31,625 10.0%

limiting the increase in assessed Taxable Value $ 28750|% 29613| 3.0%

valuations would result in
appraised values (allegedly) staying at market value.

The adjacent table simulates how this would work on a home appraised at
$250,000. Residential property is assessed at 11.5% of appraised value ($28,750 in
the example). Let's say the appraised value goes up 10% next year to $275,000. The
assessed value would also increase by 10% to $31,625, but legislation saying the
increase in assessed value may not exceed 3% puts it at $29,613. This change
allows a 10% increase in appraised value but only a 3% increase in the taxable
assessed value.

Comparison of a 6-year rolling average and
a 3% cap on valuations

The Sunflower State Journal article says the House plans a six-year rolling average,
so we'll compare that to the Senate plan.

The adjacent table shows what would have occurred if the House and Senate plans
had been implemented in 2002 (to allow for a six-year average) with limits on the
taxable assessed value described above on a home appraised at $100,000 in 1997.

According to the Kansas Department of Revenue data, both plans have the same

appraised value as of today, based on the average increases on existing property.
Residential property is assessed at 11.5% of appraised value, making the assessed
taxable value of the home increase from $11,500 in 1997 to $31,184 today. Under

Skip to footer yntent taxable assessed value would be $24,940 and the homeowner

https://kansaspolicy.org/legislature-debates-assessed-valuation-limits/

3/8



3/19/25, 3:54 PM

would pay $3,741 at 150 mills.
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Simulation of 2002 Implementation Limiting Taxable Value
6-Year
Act 3% Annual

The homeowner saves more e ual ;
Description History Rolling Cap

under the Senate plan, paying AYEEE

Appraised Value in 1997 S 100,000 | S 100,000 | S 100,000
$3,434 on a taxable value of Appraised Value in 2024 $ 271,168 | $ 271,168 [ $ 271,168
$22,892 Taxable Value in 1997 S 11,500(S 11,500|S 11,500

Taxable Value in 2024 S 31,184 (S 24940|S 22,892

Total Chg Taxable Value '97-24 171% 117% 99%
Under current law, the CAGR Taxable Value '97-24 3.8% 2.9% 2.6%
homeowner would pay $4,678 2024 Tax @ 150 mills $ 4678|$ 3741|35 3434

Source: Kansos Dept. of Revenue, author's colculations

today with no valuation limit.
Both plans would have produced savings, but the actual savings of both plans

would probably be less because local elected officials would likely have imposed
higher mill rates. However, the impact of mill rate increases on their re-election

chances would likely soften the rate hikes and still leave homeowners with savings.
See here for the changes by year.

The one-year implementation plan in the House plan is practically an invitation for

county appraisers to jack up valuations before any rolling average applies.

Another downside of the House plan relative to the Senate plan is the potential
impact on future appraised values. Phasing in increases with a 6-year rolling
average makes it easier for appraisers to raise values because the homeowner will
only feel a small portion of the impact each year. Appraisal hikes have no impact
with a fixed cap on taxable values.

Only applying a cap on residential taxable values in the House plan also raises the
possibility of shifting the tax burden to other classes of real estate, like agriculture

and commercial/industrial property.

Regardless of how all this shakes out - the final product in situations like this
typically includes elements of both plans - the House deserves credit for bringing
an alternative for consideration. Otherwise, the issue would likely die if two-thirds

of House members won't support the Senate plan.

Lo o roier nien: NCreases without voter approval
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As noted earlier, valuation limits prevent property owners from large spikes, but
they also likely result in local officials charging higher mill rates. Legislators can
blunt that temptation by also limiting the percentage increase in tax collections for
local government entities without voter approval.

A tax limit can be accomplished by changing state law, which only requires a simple
majority to pass and could go into effect July 1 of this year, whereas a constitutional
amendment requires a two-thirds majority to reach the November ballot and take
effect in January 2026. Of course, Governor Kelly is likely to veto a tax limit as she
routinely takes the side of local government and school administrators over
taxpayers and students, so a two-thirds majority is needed to override her veto of a

statutory change.

A statutory change could be made to the existing revenue-neutral law, which
requires elected officials to notify taxpayers that they intend to exceed revenue-
neutral and hold a public hearing before voting on the increase. A sentence could
be added saying that exceeding revenue-neutral by more than 3% requires voter
approval on the August primary ballot. Therefore, the results would be known
before revenue-neutral hearings begin on August 20 and several weeks before
budgets must be finalized.

Real Estate Property Tax Change

Description
Residential
All Real Estate

Source: Konsaos Dept. of Revenue, Property Valuation Division

Some people fear that a 3% tax limit would ‘lock in" a 3% increase each year, but
that would be a welcome relief when compared to the historical reality. The
average tax increase on residential property since 2018 is 6.3%, and the average
change on all real estate (including commercial/industrial, agricultural, and other
classes of real estate) is 5.0%; that includes changes from new construction, but the
change on existing property would still be well above 3%.

Shaving mill rates is not enough
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It is hard to predict how the House and Senate will resolve their differences, but
doing a valuation or a tax limit (or both) is an absolute must for taxpayers.

There is consideration of minor Property Tax % Change
reductions to the 20 mills the state e 1997 - 2023

collects for school funding and raising the o 239%
exemption on that tax for homeowners. 200% SE79% 1?4?‘

Another thought is eliminating the 1.5 150%

mills the state collects for state building 0% 80%

maintenance. Both are good changes, but ~ ** -

fall far short of what taxpayers need. Also, TR ltion - Sl el Sban taval Uodh

: 3 : T T
both measures insulate school districts " ¥
Source: Kansas Dept. of Revenue, Bureau of Labor Statistics
and other local entities, which collectively
account for 99% of all property taxes, from having to take taxpayers into

consideration.

The 2024 county-level data is not available, but local governments hiked property
tax collections by 239% between 1997 and 2023. That is three times the rate of
inflation, with only a 12% population increase. Tax increases from schools and
community colleges are almost as bad, with a 194% increase.

Kansans also strongly favor limits on valuations and property taxes, according to a
public opinion poll conducted on our behalf by SurveyUSA.

64% of taxpayers want a valuation limit, and only 18% are opposed. Approval of a
3% tax limit is even greater, with 87% approval and only 9% opposed.
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The state constitution should be changed to limit annual increases in appraised values rather than

appraising property at fair market value.

688 Registered Voters; Dec. 2024 Region ldeology

Credibility Interval: £4.1 pct pts s SR | Vi I_(ansas ik Conserv | Mod. | Liberal
Kansas Area City Area | Kansas

Strongly / Somewhat Agree 64% 61% 67% 66% 62% 70% 67% 52%

Strongly / Somewhat Disagree 18% 20% 14% 21% 15% 15% 16% 28%

Not Sure 18% 18% 19% 12% 23% 15% 18% 20%

Local tax authorities should not be able to increase the property taxes they collect by more than 3%

without voter approval.

Registered Voters; Dec. 2024 Region Ideclogy
Credibility Interval: £ 4.1 pct pts st Do B I_(ansas Sy Conserv | Mod. | Liberal
Kansas Area City Area | Kansas
Strongly / Somewhat Agree 87% 95% 88% 88% 84% 91% 88% 81%
Strongly / Somewhat Disagree 9% 4% 8% 9% 9% 6% 10% 11%
Not Sure 4% 1% 3% 3% 6% 3% 2% 7%
Source: SurveyUSA poll conducted Dec. 13-18, 2024 on behalf of Kansas Policy Institute

Saving a few bucks from shaving state mill rates is not enough. Legislators must

come together to take substantive action with limits on valuations or taxes...or

both.

‘) assessed valuation, Dan Hawkins, HCR 5011, property appraisals, Property Tax, SCR 1603,

SurveyUSA
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